Heritage Areas

Maryland’s Heritage Areas are places to experience
– to see, hear, and even taste – the authentic heritage of Maryland in ways that you cannot experience anywhere else! 

About Heritage Areas

Maryland is one of only a handful of states with Heritage Area programs with
Maryland's program is the largest and most active.

Heritage Areas exist where the stories of the people, the land, and the waters of Maryland, which have been intertwined for thousands of years, are told. 

In Maryland's thirteen Heritage Areas individuals, businesses, nonprofits and governments form partnerships to preserve the best of Maryland's historic sites and towns, unspoiled natural landscapes and enduring traditions. 

These tangible links to both place and the past encourage residents to recognize they have a special piece of the American story to treasure and share with others, and that in doing so they create more livable and economically sustainable communities.

The Maryland Heritage Areas Program is governed by the Maryland Heritage Areas Authority (MHAA) and administered by the Maryland Historical Trust

MHAA provides targeted financial and technical assistance within thirteen designated Heritage Areas, each of which has a distinct focus or theme that represents a unique aspect of Maryland’s character. 

Local partners operating within Heritage Areas may be eligible for a variety of benefits designed to support economic development through heritage tourism, including grants, tax credits, and loans

What We Do

Together, the Maryland Heritage Areas Authority, each Heritage Area, and its local partners support the economic well-being of Maryland's communities by promoting, sustaining and creating place-based experiences for visitors and residents alike. We accomplish this work through partnerships, grantmaking, advocacy, and outreach.

Partnerships &
Technical Assistance

Seed Funding &

Liaise with Grantors and Grantees for Success

Joint Marketing & Program Awareness

Maryland's Heritage Areas

Each of Maryland's Heritage Areas is operated separately, some are private non-profits while some are part of county governments. The leaders of each Heritage Area meet regularly as the Maryland Heritage Areas Coalition to share information, resources, and to advocate for the program at the state level.

Anacostia Trails
Heritage Area
(Maryland Milestones)
Prince George's County

Baltimore National
Heritage Area
Baltimore City

Beach to Bay
Heritage Area
Somerset, Wicomico, and Worcester Counties

Chesapeake Crossroads
Heritage Area
(Four Rivers
Heritage Area/Annapolis London Town & South County Heritage Area (ALTSCHA))
Anne Arundel County

Southern Maryland
National Heritage Area
Calvert, Charles, and
St. Mary's Counties

Heart of the Chesapeake Country Heritage Area
(I Love Dorchester/Visit Dorchester)
Dorchester County

Heritage Montgomery
(Montgomery County
Heritage Area)
Montgomery County

Heart of the Civil War Heritage Area
Carroll, Frederick, and Washington Counties

Lower Susquehanna Heritage Area
(Upper Bay Trails)
Cecil and Harford Counties

Mountain Maryland
Gateway to the West
Garrett County

Patapsco Vallery
Heritage Greenway
Baltimore and Howard Counties

Passages of the Western Potomac
Heritage Area
Allegany County

Stories of the Chesapeake
Heritage Area
Caroline, Kent, Queen Anne's, and Talbot Counties